top of page

About Us

 The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration Society has provided direct programming, leadership development, civic engagement and opportunities for artistic expression for more than 20,000 boys and girls across the city of Tulsa, Tulsa County and the surrounding areas since it was founded in 1978. The Society has awarded $132,000 in scholarships over the past three decades to local high school graduates aspiring to achieve Dr. King’s dream. Annually thousands of people attend the parade that gathers at the corner of N. Detroit Ave. and John Hope Franklin Blvd. and meanders through historic Greenwood Avenue to Archer. 

For more information or inquiries, please call 918.492.9495, leave your name, phone number, and a brief message and your call will be returned as soon as possible. You can also email us at


​The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration Society, Inc is a Tulsa, Oklahoma based 501(C)(3) non profit organization focused on honoring and preserving the works and ideals that Dr. King practiced. 


Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration Society

Board of Directors


Pleas Thompson, 


Tara Tumey, 

Vice President

Cathy Carter (Adv.),



To preserve the memory and legacy of the work and ideals of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.; to embrace the dream of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. through remembrance, reflection and re commitment; to promote, support and facilitate ongoing interracial, interfaith and intercultural programs which reflect the mission, prayers and dream of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.; and to emphasize unity, justice and love in a nonviolent and nonpolitical manner. 


D'Angelo Brown

Joe Deere

Angela Burnett

Chief Wendell Franklin

Dr. Pauline Harris

Rebecca Marks Jimerson

Dr. Joyce McClellan

Jacob Parra.jpg

Jacob Parra

Christopher Payne, APR, Fellow PRSA

Emonica Reagan-Neeley

Sheriff Vic Regalado

Dr. Stephen Wiley

Carol Singleton (not pictured)


Cara Wallin, MLK Administrative Assistant

bottom of page